State Canvassing Board certifies Nov. 6 election results

  • Print Friendly and PDF
  • Print Friendly and PDF

St. Paul, MN ——Minnesota Secretary of State Mark Ritchie today (Tuesday, Nov. 27) announced that the State Canvassing Board met this afternoon and made official the results of the Nov. 6, 2012 general election for all races with the exceptions of Senate District 20 and House District 8B for which hand recounts were authorized.

Official election results show that the total number of voters was 2,950,780.  Of those votes, 267,464 were cast by absentee ballot and 527,867 voters used same-day registration.

Taxpayer paid recounts are triggered by Minnesota Law (Minnesota Statutes 204C.35) when the margin between state, judicial and federal candidates is less than one-half of one percent.

The candidates affected by the legislative recounts are Kevin L. Dahle (Democratic-Farmer-Labor) and Mike Dudley (Republican) in Senate District 20 and Mary Franson (Republican) and Bob Cunniff (Democratic-Farmer-Labor) in House District 8B.

The recount for Senate District 20 will be conducted in Le Suer, Rice and Scott Counties on Nov. 28-30.  The House District 8B recount will be held on Nov. 28 -29 in Douglas and Otter Tail counties.

The State Canvassing Board will reconvene to certify the legislative recount results at 1:30 p.m. on Dec. 4, 2012 at the State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, Minnesota.

“I want to thank Minnesota election officials for their excellent work administering the first general election since redistricting and these legislative recounts. I also want to express my appreciation to the State Canvassing Board members for their public service,” said Secretary of State Ritchie.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Purchase Photos

menards flyer promo