Gov. Dayton appoints Ann Offermann, Christian Wilton to First Judicial District Court

  • Print Friendly and PDF
  • Print Friendly and PDF

NEWS RELEASE — Saint Paul— Gov. Mark Dayton on Tuesday, Aug. 28 announced the appointment of Ann M. Offermann and Christian S. Wilton as District Court Judges in Minnesota’s First Judicial District.

Offermann and Wilton will replace the Honorable Carol Hooten who was appointed to the Minnesota Court of Appeals and the Honorable William Macklin who retired earlier this year. Both seats will be chambered at Shakopee in Scott County.

Ann Offermann

Ånn Offermann

Offermann is an Assistant Dakota County Attorney assigned to the Adult Criminal Prosecution Division where she is responsible for representing Dakota County in all stages of felony criminal prosecutions. She is a former Assistant Attorney General for the State of Minnesota where she worked within the Public Safety, Labor and Health Licensing Divisions. Offermann currently serves as President of the Dakota County Bar Association and volunteers as a trained support parent with Family Voices of Minnesota. Additionally, Offermann is a Board member of the Minnesota Valley YMCA and involved with the Epilepsy Foundation of Minnesota.

Christian Wilton

Christian Wilton

Wilton is an Assistant United States Attorney for the District of Minnesota where he prosecutes a wide variety of criminal offenses including violent crimes, narcotics trafficking, economic crimes and child exploitation. He previously served as an Assistant Ramsey County Attorney where he handled prosecution of gang, civil commitment, child abuse and murder cases. Wilton is a lead grader of bar exams for the State of Minnesota’s Board of Law Examiners.  Additionally, Wilton is actively involved with local schools serving as a volunteer hockey coach for the Apple Valley Hockey Association and a parent volunteer with Olson Middle School.

“I am very pleased to announce these appointments,” Gov. Dayton said. “Both Ms. Offermann and Mr. Wilton are excellent attorneys and public servants.  They will be outstanding additions to the bench in Minnesota’s First Judicial District.”

Minnesota’s First Judicial District includes Carver, Dakota, Goodhue, LeSueur, McLeod, Scott and Sibley counties

More information on the Commission on Judicial Selection, as well as vacancies it is currently considering, can be found at


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Purchase Photos

menards flyer promo